Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library: Home

Library News

COVID-19 Information

While the 19th July 2021 introduces a relaxing of rules, BPP will continue to follow Government guidance. Please check the selected centres that are open and their revised opening times. Also you can find latest information on bpp.com. Please continue to follow guidance which includes self testing for COVID-19 (see details below for testing near your BPP Centre) and wearing a face covering when moving about the buildings and  in busy areas. You must still book library and other study spaces and should maintain social distancing. The library's online services remain available and you are welcome to contact the library team with any questions on library@bpp.com. There is also a Chat service from this page.

Please be aware that staffing maybe affected at short notice by self-isolation rules. You should still be able to use the library spaces for study and use the contacts given above for any research and general queries.

Don't worry if you have books which you borrowed - you won't have built up any fines since our libraries closed in March 2020.

Please read our Covid Secure Policy before visiting, and check Centre opening times on the BPP website for the latest information. Also the Students' Association has created a very clear and useful guide to returning to Centres on their webpages.

Accessing Library Collections

The library collections are tailored to meet the needs of BPP’s taught programmes and consist of 40,000 books many of which are available online, 65,000 journal titles, 36,000 case studies, 350 law reports including all major series, legal research materials, financial reports and information for UK and international companies and a range of careers and reference material.

Online Library

To borrow an item, bring it to the library issue desk together with your BPP student ID card. At some centres you will be able to borrow items using a self issue machine.

Your Athens username and password will allow you to access the Library’s online collections.

Your Athens details will have been emailed to your bpp email account shortly before the start of your programme. 

My Athens Logo

We suggest that you always try to access online resources from the Online Library. Although it is possible to access some services from an external website you may be presented with a commercial sign in screen.  You will need to look for an ‘Academic sign-in’ or ‘OA’ (Open Athens) sign in options, and select Athens as your method of access, then again choose BPP University (if asked) and then put in your Athens username and password credentials.  

If you are unsure of your Athens login details ask a member of library staff.

Search for the books available in the library collection. You can limit your search by the physical location of the book or run a search which will only return e-books. 

Search for books and ebooks

Check your library account to see items you have on loan

Useful for identifying in which database a specific journal title can be found. It also includes coverage dates. 

To search for articles, use the Search Everything box

 

Use the journals search to find e-journal titles from the Library's 68,500 electronic journals.

We are experiencing some problems with the Find a Journal search box; if you experience difficulties, please use this direct link

Allows you to perform a search at item or article level across the entire library collection including most subscribed resources and some of the major open access collections such as the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Please note some key titles are not included in this search

 

We are experiencing some problems with the Search Everything search box; if you experience difficulties, please use this direct link

You should be able to access everything you need for your studies through the library service. If you cannot find the reading you need in the library’s collection please let us know by either:

  • Asking a member of library staff via email  or chat (at the bottom right of this page) 
  • Suggesting an additional item for purchase (all suggestions will be considered). 
  • Requesting an Inter-Library Loan (if appropriate we will request the item for you from the British Library).

Induction