What is the Great Reads project?

The Great Reads project is comprised of several collections of fiction and non fiction material that supplement our wide range of professional studies material. The collections-based at London Central (Holborn), London West (Shepherd's Bush), Manchester and Birmingham, include physical texts and ebooks, which students and staff can browse and borrow as standard loans. 

FAQS

How long has the Great Reads project been active? 

The Great Reads project has been active since 2021. 

What does the collection aim to do? 

The collection’s tagline is ‘Engage. Enquire. Explore,’ which reflects our commitment to student engagement, and the collection’s intention to provide an environment of literary enquiry, education, and exploration.

The collection has three main values that inform its overall aims:

  1. Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion: To supplement and enhance the Library’s EDI (Equality, Diversity, Inclusion) campaigns and displays– such as the ‘Read with Pride’ campaign for Pride Month, the ‘Learn Proud Live Proud’ campaign for LGBTQ+ History Month and our Windrush Day display, with comprehensive reading material that celebrates diversity and difference and promotes the Library as a welcoming and inclusive safe space. In reflection of a wider call to decolonise and diversify literature, the Great Reads collection provides equity of access to valuable perspectives and stories (for example, Black, Asian, and LGBTQI+ narratives) that have often been marginalised and underrepresented within the literary canon. All books and ebooks are available to borrow as standard three-week loans.
  2. Student Wellbeing: the BPP University Library team understands how hard students work, and for many study time can all too often mean long hours in front of a screen. The project aims to encourage students to take regular breaks from computer/phone or tablet screens, relax and be mindful through reading. Our commitment to student wellbeing is also reflected in our use of content warnings for texts that deal with sensitive topics and issues. Content warnings can be found for each individual relevant text on our ‘Great Reads’ reading lists, and within individual books, printed on the date label.
  3. Student Engagement: The Great Reads collection seeks to provide new opportunities for student engagement by including student recommendations. This aim enables students to see their favourite books at the heart of our Library collections, and therefore helps to create a welcoming and positive Library space conducive to successful study.

Where can I find the project?

On site:

The collection’s HQ is at our London Central (Holborn site), on the Ground Floor, near the Display Area, which has been active since 2021. We also have a Great Reads collection at London West (Shepherd's Bush), Birmingham, and Manchester, alongside the Manchester ‘Book Crossing Zone’ project.

Online:

Students can browse the full list of works—including ebooks and online resources—in the Great Reads collections here.

Are there reading lists for the Library's EDI campaigns? 

Yes!  We have extensive reading lists available that celebrate and highlight the diversity of our collections and campaigns. Our reading lists focus on Black literature and culture (‘Black History, Literature, and Culture 365’) LGBTQI+ literature (‘Read with Pride 365’), the Library’s support for BPP’s ‘Say My Name’ campaign, and support International Day of People with Disabilities ('Disability and Neurodiversity Awareness') and our commitment to sustainability ('BPP Library Green Learning'). 

How can I get involved?

Donate:

We welcome book donations from BPP students. Books can be of any genre (fiction or non fiction, fantasy, memoir, poetry, classic literature, children’s books etc) but must be in a good condition so that we are able to process items for borrowing. Students interested in donating books are encouraged to speak to the Holborn Library Team. Thank you to everyone who have donated books so far! 

Recommend:

Do you have a book (or books) you’d recommend for the collection? Suggest items via the purchase request form on the ‘Can’t find what you need?’ tab on the BPP LibGuides page, scan the ‘Have Your Say’ QR code displayed in promotional material for our campaigns, use the London Central (Holborn) Library Feedback Box (on the Ground Floor of the Holborn Library site, by the stairwell), or contact us via the BPP Online Library. Any recommendations will be forwarded to our Acquisitions team. If you would prefer an accessible format (for instance, a dyslexia friendly edition, Braille version, or large print work,) please let the Library Team know, and/or provide further details on the feedback form or purchase request form.

Spread the word:

Let other students know about the collection and/or about books in the collection that you have enjoyed reading by using the hashtag #BPPLibraryGreatReads on social media, and tagging BPP Library (@BPPLibrary).