Law: Practitioner Texts

A leading commentary on the substantive law of corporate insolvency and offering practical guidance on the various procedures arising in this important field. Written by recognised experts in the field, it is a user-friendly text that is accessible to both legal and accountancy practitioners.

This text presents a concise yet analytical explanation of the fundamental principles of insurance law. Written in an accessible and straightforward manner the work covers everything from the history of insurance and regulation, through to the various forms of insurance such as life, and liability.

Birds’ Modern Insurance Law is firmly established as the leading text in this area of law. It is an essential work for undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as for those undertaking a related professional course. It is also an ideal reference source for legal and insurance professionals who want a quick reference guide.

Insolvency is the definitive work which provides all the necessary explanation and analysis in this area, looking at every angle of corporate insolvency law and practice. From basic introductory material to detailed advice on specific aspects, Insolvency is an instant library of commentary and source material showing how the cold print of insolvency law and subsequent rules operate in daily practice.

First published in 1904, Paget's Law of Banking has established itself as a leading practitioner text on banking law, combining meticulous accuracy and depth with a clear approach to this complex area. This edition has been updated and expanded to provide a thoroughly modern approach to the subject matter, while remaining unique in providing a comprehensive, clear and accurate statement of the law of banking, with a particular emphasis on the principles which underpin the case law.

MacGillivray on Insurance Law is the established authority on non-maritime commercial insurance and risk. For over one hundred years it has been a trusted text for providing comprehensive and clear guidance through its examination of the most recent cases and legislative developments. Covering general principles, particular classes of business and the parties involved, it is a must-have title for anyone seeking advice on insurance law.

Byles on Bills of Exchange and Cheques is the essential reference guide to the regulation and use of payment instruments. Giving a detailed account of the law of bills of exchange, promissory notes and cheques, this classic text sets out the substantive and procedural law, as well as the application of the laws of principal and surety and insolvency to this context. The 30th edition incorporates legislative developments and recent case law from the UK and Commonwealth, as well as expanded discussion of set-offs.

The White Book contains the sources of law relating to the practice and procedures of the High Court and the County Court for the handling of civil litigation, subject to the Civil Procedure Rules (CPR), and is supplemented by substantial and comprehensive expert commentary. The White Book is relied upon by more judges and lawyers than any other legal text and is trusted for its authority and commentary.

The Green Book is the indispensable authority on civil procedure. It contains all the sources relating to civil proceedings in the High Court and the County Court, complemented by commentary from eminent experts.

Jervis on Coroners takes you step-by-step through the procedure and practice before, during and after a coroner’s investigation or inquest. Every aspect is covered, from the basic principles to more complex issues of homicide, disasters, prescribed diseases and notifiable accidents. The commentary is updated by Paul Matthews and an expert team of coroners and barristers and is complemented with appendices of useful legislation, materials and forms.

This title acts as an invaluable companion to The Civil Court Practice, to which it is fully cross-referenced. It gives guidance on the legal and practical implications of all forms of drafting for County Court and High Court litigation, and is divided into three parts: General Proceedings under the CPR 1998; Specific Proceedings under the CPR, which deals with areas such as Tort, Personal Injury, Landlord and Tenant and Real Property; and Specific Proceedings outside the CPR, which deals with the law relating to Insolvency, Children and Family Breakdown.

Compiled by over 60 leading barristers, this book provides precedents with guiding commentary, and reflects the legislative and judicial developments in the individual practice areas. It provides coverage of both mainstream and specialist practice areas, and a working tool for advocates.

This volume provides comprehensive coverage including all aspects of the law relating to commercial injunctions, including freezing injunctions and search orders. It also gives selected statutory material, precedents, rules and practice directions and standard form orders.

This well-established and practical title returns fully updated with legislative changes concerning every aspect of civil costs, providing concise and comprehensive commentary on costs developments as well as straightforward explanations of the remuneration of solicitors and barristers. Using a dual approach, the text both informs and guides you through all aspects of the costs of contentious and non-contentious legal business.

Butterworths Company Law Handbook is widely regarded as the essential company law reference work, setting out the relevant texts of the most important statutes, statutory instruments and European legislation. Known to many as "the Blue Book", the Butterworths Company Law Handbook also provides comprehensive coverage of legislation currently in force (taking into account all amendments, repeals and revocations), with cross-references to other legislation and to commencement tables and fees and forms tables where necessary.

Butterworths Corporate Law Service is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to all aspects of corporate law. This revised and expanded work takes a practical and modern approach and is designed to help the busy practitioner find the information they require as quickly and easily as possible. The service covers company law, corporate administration, corporate finance and corporate transactions.

Offers advice on all aspects of company law. In addition, there are: three updates a year, invoiced on publication; three issues a year of the Case Law Noter-Up Service, which provides case digests of recent important company law cases; and a subscription to the Jordans Corporate Law Bulletin, prepared by Ashurst Morris Crisp, which offers up-to-date information on company law developments.

Practical, up-to-date, annotated guide to the new Companies Act 2006.

Now in its 31st edition, the essential Tolley's publication is the first point of reference for accountants, solicitors, company secretaries and all those involved in company law.

This edition has been updated in a two-volume, loose-leaf format. The first volume contains the narrative text and deals with the following: the economic and legal background; the forms and legal mechanics of takeovers; the scope of allowable takeovers and mergers; aspects of the takeover; consequences of a successful or unsuccessful bid and fiscal and accounting considerations and consequences.

This highly acclaimed and authoritative text, which is regularly cited by all courts from the Supreme Court downwards, combines a deep theoretical analysis of foundational principles with a practical approach in the context of typical commercial and financial transactions. It is also replete with diagrams and specimen forms covering a wide range of transactions.

This manual provides over 70 alphabetically arranged chapters covering every aspect of company law from Accounts to Ultra Vires. Each chapter provides a thorough discussion of the law, cites relevant cases and puts the legal issues into a practical business context. Thoroughly indexed and cross-referenced, it offers an ideal solution when in-depth research is required.

"...an institution for those who practise public law...it has the authority that comes from being compiled by an author of singular distinction". (Lord Woolf, from the Foreword to the Fifth Edition) The new edition of this Handbook remains an indispensable source of reference and a guide to the case-law in judicial review. Established as an essential part of the library of any practitioner engaged in public law cases, if offers unrivalled coverage of administrative law, including, but not confined to, the work of the Administrative Court and its procedures. Once again completely revised and up-dated, the seventh edition approximates to a restatement of the law of judicial review, organised around 63 legal principles, each supported by a comprehensive presentation of the sources and an unequalled selection of reported case quotations. It also includes essential procedural rules, forms and guidance issued by the Administrative Court. As in the previous edition, both the Civil Procedure Rules and Human Rights Act 1998 feature prominently as major influences on the shaping of the case-law. Attention is also given to impact of the Supreme Court. Here Michael Fordham casts an experienced eye over the Court's work in the area of judicial review, and assesses the signs from a Court that will be one of the key influences in the development of judicial review in the modern era. The author, a leading member of the English public law bar, and now has been involved in many of the leading judicial review cases in recent years and is the founding editor of the Judicial Review journal.

This is a student edition of Judicial Review of Administration Action. It provides a detailed and highly structured analysis of all aspects of judicial review in a way that has been adapted for student and academic requirements. In particular, technical material has been removed, and the chapters have been restructured to emphasise the basic principles of this area of law. The text refers to recent developments, including the new Civil Procedure Rules, the Human Rights Act 1998, Treaty of Amsterdam, and a wealth of case law.

Judicial Review Proceedings: A Practitioner's Guide is a comprehensive yet accessible and practical introduction to the law, practice and procedure of judicial review. It covers the substantive grounds on which a claim can be brought, deals with specific areas of law where the decisions of public authorities are commonly challenged and provides a practical step by step guide to running a claim including guidance on funding, pre-application procedure, the hearing and a chapter on the jurisdiction of the Upper Tribunal.

Now in its seventh edition, Supperstone, Goudie & Walker: Judicial Review provides an authoritative and comprehensive text on the entire law of judicial review. This title provides a thorough, detailed analysis of this complex area of law from a team of judicial review experts. It contains an essential account of relevant cases and examples of the application of the general principles, covering the law of judicial review in a number of areas, including local government, town and country planning, immigration and housing and social security.

De Smith’s Judicial Review is the leading work on the history, principles and practice of judicial review in England and Wales.

Butterworths Trading and Consumer Law covers not only unfair commercial practices and criminal measures regulating consumer transactions, but also fair trading and civil liability for goods, services and digital content, the display of prices and price promotions, advertising and consumer credit. Each distinct branch of the law has a division to itself, containing all relevant statutes, regulations and European material together with informative practice notes and codes of practice. Appendices explaining the relevant provisions of Scottish Law are also included.

Miller: Product Liability and Safety Encyclopaedia is a complete guide to the legislation affecting manufacturers, retailers and importers of goods who may be dealing in manufactured products as diverse as adhesives, food and drugs, soft toys and pesticides. The work is enhanced by the inclusion of a chapter on multi-party litigation, providing expert commentary on a rapidly developing area. Each division contains a narrative text, annotated statutes, regulations and circulars, as appropriate. The work also contains coverage of European developments.

Collates and consolidates all the diverse sources of both primary and secondary competition law in the UK and the EC. The work includes full texts of relevant legislation with annotations and case summaries. A newsletter is issued ten times a year to update readers on competition law matters.

Benjamin's Sale of Goods features clearly defined and structured sections covering Nature and Formation of the Contract of Sale, Property and Risk, Performance of the Contract, Defective Goods, Consumer Protection, Remedies, Overseas Sales, and Conflict of Laws. The text also includes expert commentary on the Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999 and outlines the implications of the Consumer Credit Act.

This is the standard and authoritative source of reference on the complex field of weights and measures law and practice. It provides the text of the Weights and Measures Act 1985 and all other relevant statutes in fully annotated form, together with all subordinate legislation and official documents and summaries of any relevant cases.It also provides enormous practical assistance by offering complete guidance on the deprescription of weighing and measuring equipment under the government's deregulation program and provides up-to-date coverage of the increasing number of European directives relating to the establishment of a Community system of weights and measures.

Chitty on Contracts is the pre-eminent reference work on contract law in the common law world. It has been used for generations by lawyers as the leading guide to contracts, and is relied on to provide insight and aid in complex areas of the law. Volume One covers the General Principles of contract law, while Volume Two offers guidance on Specific Contracts, namely contractual issues in specific industry sectors.

Part of the long-established Common Law Library, this title brings together all relevant aspects of law and how they relate to agency agreements, including contract law, administrative law, tort, commercial/company law, the law of property and the conflict of laws. Frequently cited in courts both in the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth, Bowstead and Reynolds on Agency covers the role of both agent and principal and offers explanation, advice and interpretation that will give you a better understanding of the law.

Goff & Jones is the leading work on the law of unjust enrichment. Successive editions have played a major role in establishing the central importance of the subject for private and commercial lawyers and developing its key concepts and principles. The text is comprehensive in coverage and written by highly respected scholars who explain all of the rules governing claims in unjust enrichment and discuss how these have been applied through detailed examination of the case-law.

Containing comprehensive coverage of the practice and procedure of the Crown Court, Archbold: Criminal Pleading, Evidence and Practice is a trusted text for those working in criminal law. It contains statutes on anti-social behaviour, data retention and offender rehabilitation, amongst other topics. It also includes Sentencing Council guidelines on offences of fraud, money laundering, bribery and sexual offences.

A single point of reference on criminal law and procedure, Blackstone's Criminal Practice offers all the material needed to practise with ease in the Crown and magistrates' courts. Regularly cited, its quality and accessibility make it an essential reference for all criminal law specialists.

Stone's justices' manual provides the most reliable and current coverage of the legislative changes affecting magistrates' courts. The annually updated manual provides comprehensive coverage of all new and amended legislation affecting the magistrates' courts and hundreds of new cases that set precedents or clarify particular principles of law.

This four-volume self-contained work presents all aspects of the law and practice of sentencing in the Crown Court and the magistrates' court. It covers both the statutory framework and the decisions of the Court of Appeal. The Sentencing Referencer is included as part of the service.

This is the complete compendium of industrial relations and employment law and practice. It analyses the law, clarifies obscure passages and points of difficulty and fills in the practical background. The texts of all the relevant statutes and statutory instruments are set out in full, with detailed annotations. A comprehensive division of precedents completes this work.

The Encyclopedia is a useful, practical reference guide covering all areas of employment law. Its comprehensive coverage includes the complete text of relevant statutory materials, a digest of cases and a narrative commentary containing both the basic legal principles and higher level comment written by leading practitioners and academics. It is regarded as the most lucid and authoritative commentary on the law in this area.

Tolley’s Employment Law looseleaf provides comprehensive guidance and analysis in an accessible form. It provides immediate access to the latest legislation and judicial developments, and specialist advice and guidance on a whole range of topics from absence to wrongful dismissal.

Snell's Equity provides in-depth commentary and analysis of the law of equity and offers interpretation of how the different rules can be applied to property (trusts, assets, securities). It is the most comprehensive book on this subject and is frequently cited in court.

Equitable Remedies is a work of the highest international standing and the common law authority on remedies in equity. Famously described by Sir Owen Dixon as "the best legal book to have come out of Australia", through each new edition it continues to be cited by judges in the highest courts of the common law world, including the House of Lords, the High Court of Australia, the Supreme Court of Canada and the High Court of New Zealand.

Phipson on Evidence is the leading work on civil and criminal evidence. It examines in depth all aspects of the complex principles and procedures which make up the law on evidence and can be relied upon to resolve even the most difficult issues.

Bullen and Leake and Jacob’s Precedents of Pleadings is widely regarded as the essential guide to drafting statements of case. It offers the advocate a stock of authoritative, structured precedents of statements of case complete with guiding commentary across both mainstream and specialist areas of practice. The 19th edition fully reflects all current issues under the CPR and the legislative and judicial developments in the individual practice areas.

Now in its 14th edition, Documentary Evidence is a comprehensive guide to the legal obligations of disclosure. Logically presented and lucidly written, it provides detailed analysis and sensible practical advice. Following a chronological structure, it shows when and how a practitioner should take action in relation to the obligation to disclose. It is a standard work that is often cited in court judgments.

The laws that surround disclosure are notoriously tricky. This book provides you with an authoritative and detailed analysis of this area. It examines both substantive law and procedure, discussing the “who, what, how and when” of disclosure obligations and explaining the implications of non-compliance.

Butterworths Family Law Service provides authoritative guidance on all aspects of the law as it affects families and family breakdown and includes extensive coverage of child law. ADR options are also explored in detail, with practical guidance on mediation, collaborative law, arbitration and Islamic and Jewish ADR. It deals with the law as it applies to married and unmarried partners and their children, and provides coverage of all other important family law matters including domestic violence, custody and financial provision.

The Family Court Practice (the Red Book), covers the entire range of family business and contains all the essential materials you need to practice in the Family Court. The new edition is fully updated to include the latest case-law, full coverage of new and amended legislation, Practice Directions and guidance. It also contains fully and expertly annotated statutes and rules together with scores of unique step-by-step procedural guides, which direct you effortlessly to the relevant rules and annotation.

This title covers all aspects of financial problems arising from the breakdown of a marriage. The text considers recent developments following reforms and changes to family law procedure including: introduction of the single family court provided by the Crime and Courts Act 2013; Children and Families Act 2014 including support for those whose parents are separating; introduction of child arrangement orders to replace residency and contact orders; impact of ante-and post-nuptial settlements; and the effect of pensions reform.

The first volume of Rayden and Jackson deals comprehensively with the law of relationship breakdowns and the financial applications that flow from those breakdowns: the substantive law, the procedural law and inter-jurisdictional matters. The second volume brings together statutes, procedural rules, case law and analysis in self-contained sections. This is a comprehensive, authoritative, practical and easily accessible work that covers all areas of family law relating to children, including international aspects, local authority duties, appeal and costs.

Clarke Hall and Morrison on Children is acknowledged as being the leading work on both the civil jurisdiction of the family courts and the criminal jurisdiction of the youth courts. The work gathers together all the legislation, circulars and guidance notes that relate to every aspect of child law. It also includes useful procedural tables, checklists, precedents and flowcharts. The work includes expert analysis of all the relevant case law and contains all relevant source materials accompanied by explanatory commentary.

Conceived and written around the Children Act 1989, this work is regularly commended for its user-friendly approach and for concentrating on the issues that really matter in both public and private law. Clear narrative is complemented by numerous time-saving checklists, procedural tables and flow-charts. Relevant statutory materials are included and the whole work is extensively cross-referenced.

Redgrave's Health and Safety is a leading authority on health and safety law and practice. It sets out key legislation in the field of health and safety at work, including commentary on significant Acts and Regulations; references to both English and Scottish cases, with concise commentaries on the case law; and a thorough source of fully annotated legal materials with additional commentary from the general editor and contributors.

This title includes not only a summary of European and UK human rights law but also wider international and comparative case law. It places this subject within its wider parliamentary context and connects with other jurisdictions. Issues arising under the Human Rights Act, such as freedom of expression, conscience and belief, freedom of assembly and fair trial receive comprehensive treatment. International Human Rights codes and comparative human rights law elsewhere in the Commonwealth, Ireland and the United States are also discussed. With specific chapters analysing the political history and the role of parliament in its conception and enforcement, this practical book covers all the information you need to interpret the Human Rights Act 1998.

Butterworths Immigration Law Service contains recent and essential statutes, statutory instruments, cases, ministerial circulars and forms relating to every aspect of immigration law, human rights, refugee and asylum law as well as EU treaties, regulations and directives. There are helpful introductions to the main topics, with more detailed comments and annotations in the body of the texts. The practitioner has at hand an extensive, fully cross-referenced collection of source materials and cases, together with key extracts from each judgment.

Macdonald's Immigration Law and Practice provides detailed coverage of all aspects of UK Immigration, Asylum and Nationality legislation through a mixture of commentary, supporting legislation and case law. Ensuring that practitioners are kept up to date on the recent major changes in immigration law, such as the impact of Brexit for EEA nationals and the latest on UK immigration and asylum law.

Renowned for its clear analysis of the law, this book is an authoritative reference on the subject of passing-off. It adopts a comprehensive approach to explaining the key issues concerning the 'Classic Trinity' of goodwill, damage, and misrepresentation. Fully updated with the latest case law in the UK and Commonwealth, this is a must-have commentary.

Copinger and Skone James covers the nature and history of copyright and analyses in detail the four key rights: copyright, moral rights, rights in performance and rights in unregistered design. The text explains the process for civil remedies, covering who may sue or take action, who may be sued, rights of seizure, defences and procedural matters.

Laddie, Prescott and Vitoria is replete with worked examples and in-depth discussions, and contains all the historical and contextual material needed to ensure practitioners are expertly briefed in this complex and fast-moving area of law. The text takes into account all the latest developments in EU and UK legislation and case law, and developments in technology and content delivery mechanisms.

Bringing together the expertise of over 25 highly respected professionals including patent attorneys, solicitors and members of the Bar individually selected for knowledge of and insight into the subjects to which they contribute, this essential guide gives you all the tools you need to protect the rights of your clients.

The undisputed authority on the law of patents in the United Kingdom, from application to infringement. First published in 1884 and regularly cited in court, Terrell is an essential reference for anyone seeking practical and clear guidance on patent law, practice, and procedure

Through a mix of insightful commentary and up-to-date analysis of case law and legislation from the UK and Europe, this text is the reference for the provision of clear and authoritative advice. This edition sees a major update with the inclusion of three new chapters on topics including the average consumer, Brexit, and the defining characteristics of trade marks. It also analyses the highly significant European trade mark reforms – the greatest change to trade mark law for 20 years.

Dicey, Morris & Collins on the Conflict of Laws is renowned worldwide as the foremost authority on private international law. It explains the rules, principles and practice which determine how the law of England and Wales relates to other legal systems. Across two volumes it is packed with quality and detailed coverage. Volume 1 sets out general principles, definitions, procedures, and issues relating to jurisdiction. Volume 2 looks at specific areas of law that are most likely to feature in conflict of laws cases.

Paterson's is the definitive reference work on licensing law in England and Wales, providing a comprehensive and up-to-date source for practitioners. In one volume, it gives a detailed and clear analysis of new and forthcoming changes in licensing law and incorporates all relevant legislation, regulations, orders, standard forms and precedents.

Principles of Medical Law provides a comprehensive and scholarly account of the common law and statutory provisions governing healthcare provision in England and Wales. It offers an authoritative and up-to-date account of medical law whilst also seeking to set the law in context and critique its application. The contributors include leading academics and practitioners in the area of medical law, offering a balanced, reliable, and considered perspective. The clear layout, extensive referencing, and detailed index make this an indispensable research tool.

Clinical Negligence remains the only text of its kind to cover both medical and legal aspects of medical negligence. Written by a team of 54 experts, it continues to provide the most comprehensive and authoritative guidance on all aspects of clinical negligence claims from bringing an action for damages to presenting expert evidence in court. It also includes detailed consideration of funding and cost implications.

This title provides step-by-step guidance on each stage of a conveyancing transaction, stating the relevant law and supplying practical advice, the text of the relevant materials and documents, and all the necessary precedents. The text looks at transactions from both the vendor's and the purchaser's point of view and contains a wealth of precedents. These cover the drafting of legal documents and such other matters as letters, preliminary enquiries, requisitions on title, undertakings, and all the numerous forms used during a conveyancing transaction.

Megarry and Wade: The Law of Real Property provides a comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of the contemporary law of real property. It covers the whole of the English law of real property, together with related subjects such as conveyancing, leases and wills and intestacy. Due to the book’s long history and its association with Sir Robert Megarry V.C. and Sir William Wade, it is viewed as a highly authoritative source of English Land Law.

Hill and Redman's Law of Landlord and Tenant covers everything from general common law rules to business tenancies and from private and public sector housing to agricultural tenancies. The information is divided into eight divisions, each containing narrative guidance, statutes and statutory instruments. The seventh division contains a comprehensive selection of precedents and addresses, in detail, the key issues involved in the drafting of leases.

Ross is the acknowledged market-leading text in the commercial property field. Providing the complete commercial lease service, it includes the relevant cases, materials, precedents and guidance for whatever type of commercial lease the practitioner may face.Updated twice a year, the looseleaf format guarantees up-to-date legislation, case law and current practice.

Woodfall's Landlord and Tenant is the definitive guide to all aspects of landlord and tenant law, and is the text most often cited in courtrooms. Its encyclopedic coverage combines authority and experience with a concern for the reader's practical requirements.

Designed to be a concise and accessible guide to the fundamental principles of planning law in England and Wales, this text includes chapters on central and local administration, development plans, the meaning of development, planning permission, environmental impact assessment, enforcement, heritage protection and review by the courts. Attention is paid to developments in statute and case law, and the implications of Brexit have also been added.

Ruoff and Roper: Registered Conveyancing covers the whole process of land registration from first registration and upgrading of land through to rectification, indemnity and determination of disputes. A clear explanation of the law is given, explaining the changes to the legal principles underlying the land registration system and describing in detail the practical, procedural and formal requirements imposed by the new Act and Land Registration Rules 2003.

Butterworths Road Traffic Service is a highly respected authority on all matters relating to road traffic offences and the relevant law. It has a uniquely practical approach because it deals with the subject offence by offence within specific divisions of the work.The work contains full details for each offence along with the appropriate precedent, statutory references and supporting case law. The title offers practical guidance on defences and mitigation, procedure, evidence, penalties and sentencing.

Wilkinson’s Road Traffic Offences covers all the criminal offences linked to motoring, including speeding, drink driving, dangerous driving, insurance violations, license violations, offences concerning the condition of vehicles, etc. In addition to commentary relating to this range of offences, the title also includes definitions of motoring terms and court procedural information and instructions to guide practitioners through this area of the law from both a prosecution and defence perspective.

Chorley and Giles Shipping Law was originally published for students of commerce and employees in shipping offices and is now in its eighth edition.

This unique title examines issues of ship owning, trading, and maritime law and practice in light of risk, with a view to minimising the risk of liabilities and avoiding the pitfalls of litigation or arbitration. This third edition has been fully revised and restructured into two self-contained volumes for ease of reference. It continues to provide succinct analysis of the key principles and precedents of maritime law, as well as a commercially sensitive approach to risk management issues.

The text provides expert opinion, detailed and comprehensive coverage and contains many worked examples. For the non-specialist practitioner, an IHT Guide is included, providing an overview of inheritance tax extensively cross-referenced to the commentary. Includes comprehensive source materials. These cover double tax agreements, statutes (including pre-consolidation legislation where relevant), statutory instruments, extra-statutory concessions, and statements of practice, as well as other HMRC practice which has been published.

This title focuses on how overseas trusts, companies and other entities may be used as a legitimate shelter from UK taxation by private clients. It includes comprehensive treatment of the favourable tax regime enjoyed by foreign domiciliaries and is an established guide to this difficult and controversial subject. The text is divided into Part A, which explains planning techniques; Part B, which analyses the legal framework; Part C, which contains detailed exposition of key anti-avoidance legislation; and Part D which covers international agreements.

Simon’s is the most popular tax reference service in the UK – it is relied on by more accountants and tax practitioners, solicitors and barristers than any other service of its kind. The main part of the service is the unrivalled narrative, which provides practical and authoritative guidance written by leading practitioners drawn from a range of different disciplines and reviewed by the distinguished Simon’s editorial board.

Whiteman and Sherry on Income Tax shows how legislation has been applied by the courts through analysis of case law, and offers clear treatment of those aspects of tax law which cause problems, providing practical, experienced solutions. It covers specific taxpayers such as trustees, charities and partnerships; analyses the business income in terms of computation for profits on trade, profession and ventures; and goes through the administration of income tax, including returns, self-assessment, machinery of assessment, appeals and collection.

This title offers expert guidance on a whole range of topics, from motor insurance, medical negligence and industrial accidents to character assessment of witnesses, personality changes, damages for scars and the effect of inflation on claims.The text is supported by questionnaires, worked examples, sample letters, precedents, model pleadings, checklists, tables of costs, anatomical drawings and a glossary of medical terms. The work includes hundreds of quantum summaries, the latest key cases and new quantums are regularly added.

Clerk and Lindsell on Torts, part of the Common Law Library series, is an essential reference tool which is widely referred to by practitioners and cited by the judiciary. It offers the most comprehensive coverage of the subject, providing the end user with indispensable access to current, frequent and unrivalled authoritative information on all aspects of tort law.

A primary reference tool on the general principles and the particular aspects of common law damages, McGregor on Damages is the leading authority on damages. As part of the Common Law Library, McGregor on Damages provides in-depth and comprehensive coverage of the law, from detailed consideration of the general principles to a full analysis of specific areas of damages.

This title offers unrivalled depth of analysis into the tort of negligence. The foremost guide to this complex area of the law, the book provides an exhaustive reference for practitioners and academics. Students and practitioners will find comprehensive and practical case law illustrations in relation to every point and an unparalleled analysis of Commonwealth authority.

Jackson and Powell is the definitive text on Professional Liability. It provides comprehensive coverage of the law of professional liability. It is an essential reference point for every practitioner as it aids them in establishing whether a duty of care exists and whether it has been breached, providing quick access with confidence as to whether a cause of action exists while explaining the remedies available.

Provides comprehensive guidance on every aspect of quantum in personal injury claims. This book enables you to assess, advise on and proceed with, or defend, a PI claim for damages, deals with every kind of PI claim in one reference source, from clinical negligence to psychiatric injury and fatal accidents to criminal injuries compensation.

For definitive coverage of defamation law, media law practitioners, defamation specialists and academics rely on this leading text. This twelfth edition has been thoroughly updated with recent case decisions and legislation.

Designed to provide practical solutions to your day-to-day problems, Butterworths Wills, Probate and Administration Service looseleaf contains clear, step-by-step guidance on all areas of probate and administration law and practice, from planning and drafting a will, through administration of the estate and taxation, to after-death variations, family provision and contentious matters.

As two-thirds of people die intestate, up to date guidance on the complex laws of intestacy is essential for practitioners. Sherrin and Bonehill is the only specialist work on this subject and provides the definitive guide to both law and practice. The work is split into four key parts: Introduction and history; Personal representatives and the administration; The entitlement and distribution; and Matters affecting entitlement.

Tristram and Coote's Probate Practice is the definitive work on probate and is extensively referred to by the Probate Registries. The text is written by a team of experts drawn from the judiciary, probate registry and the Capital Taxes Office and is essential reading for all practitioners working within this complex area of the law.

Theobald on Wills provides a blend of academic analysis and practical advice on the law of wills. The text clearly explains the fundamental principles of will making and goes through the general principles of construction and the admissibility of evidence. It offers guidance on the interpretation of wills, identifies problems which may arise in practice and provides possible solutions, and shows how the courts have interpreted the law through detailed analysis of case law.

Williams on Wills has long been recognised as the leading text in the area of wills. Considered to be the definitive practitioner textbook, the new edition has been fully revised and updated for 2022. As always, the title will consist of two volumes, the second of which comprises an extensive collection of gold standard precedents both for complete wills and clauses used in wills.

This title provides in-depth guidance to the law of probate and the administration of estates after death. The text offers solutions to the most complex problems through authoritative analysis of the law and how it has been applied by the courts. It covers the grant of probate and of administration, non-contentious and contentious practice, devolution and liability, and the administration and distribution of assets.