Some students find the academic writing process challenging and are unsure where to start. This page will explain the different stages of the assignment writing process, how to overcome writer's block and how you can use the feedback that you receive to improve your assignment writing. It also includes information about reflective writing.
Your programme will require your assignments to be structured and formatted in a particular way. You should always follow any instructions or guidance that you have been issued with, if you are unsure, please contact your Personal Tutor or Student Support Officer for advice.
LinkedIn Learning provides access to online courses which can be accessed from the Library’s Online Resources page. For example, Editing and Proofreading Made Simple and Writing in Plain English
The information below applies to most academic writing.
Academic writing is more formal than the language that is used during everyday life. It is well-structured and includes evidence from research to support the arguments presented.
Assignments are usually written in the third person, for example, This assignment will analyse … and first person pronouns such as I and we are not used.
Academic writing uses cautious language to demonstrate that future research could discover new ideas and theories, for example, This suggests…
Abbreviations and contractions such as don't and won't are not used in academic writing and the full version of these words is used, for example, do not and will not.
Some subjects have their own academic writing style and you may be provided with information about the style that you need to use.
Paragraphs help to structure your argument and help to divide your assignment into sections which make it easier to read. They are usually structured as explained below:
First sentence- introduces the topic or the next stage in your argument
Following sentences- provides more information about the subject and includes evidence and examples to support your arguments
Last sentence-summarises the information and provides a link to the next paragraph
Students sometimes find it difficult to know where to start when they are writing an assignment. The following tips may help you to begin writing your first draft:
It is important that you allocate sufficient time to this process to ensure that you submit your best work.
Editing includes checking the content and structure of your work and then rewriting and adding paragraphs to your work. The following are suggestions for things you should check:
Proofreading is the last stage of the academic writing process. Some students find that it helps to print out their work or read their assignment aloud as it helps them to check if their assignment makes sense and identify mistakes. You should check:
Before you submit your assignment, read the information that you have received regarding the presentation and submission of the assignment to ensure that you have met all of the requirements. You could check the following:
Assignments are marked against a list of assessment criteria and the comments that you receive will provide you with information regarding the strengths of your work and suggestions for improvement.
Reflecting on the feedback that you have received and identifying one or two things that you can work on in your next assignment will help to improve your assignment writing and the marks that you receive.
If you do not understand any of the comments, please contact your lecturer for advice.
Further information about learning from your assignment feedback is available from:
Reflection involves thinking carefully about an event or experience to understand what happened and how we may approach a similar situation in the future.
Reflective writing is usually:
There are a number of models available which will provide you with a framework that will help you to reflect. If a specific model is specified in the assignment guidance then you need to use that model.
Gibbs (1988) created a reflective cycle which includes the following categories:
| Description | What happened? |
| Feelings | What were you thinking and feeling? |
| Evaluation | What were the positive and negative parts of the experience? |
| Analysis | How does your experience compare with relevant academic research? |
| Conclusion | What have you learned from the experience? |
| Action Plan | If the experience happened again, what would you do differently? |
More information about the Gibbs (1988) model is available from the Reflection Toolkit (Edinburgh University).
There are a number of models available which will provide you with a framework that will help you to reflect. If a specific model is specified in the assignment guidance then you need to use that model.
Schӧn (1991) created a reflective model which involves thinking during the experience (reflection in action) and after (reflection on action).
|
Reflection in action |
Thinking about the experience at the time Deciding what you are going to do Acting immediately |
|
Reflection on action |
Thinking about the experience after the event What have you learned from the experience? If the experience happened again, what would you do differently? |
Schӧn, D. A. (1991) The reflective practitioner : how professionals think in action. London: Ashgate Publishing.
The following online videos will provide you with information regarding using Generative AI tools in your assignments:
Success in Academic Writing by
This concise and practical guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process, and covers core aspects of academic writing, from understanding the task and researching the topic through to composing a draft, editing copy and responding to feedback. Chapters feature numerous self-study activities, top tips and opportunities for reflection, alongside examples of good writing from a range of disciplines. By engaging with the text, students will develop confidence, technique and clarity as writers in their discipline, as well as transferable skills that are highly valued by employers.This book will be an invaluable source of guidance for students of all disciplines and levels who are required to write essays, reports, papers or dissertations as part of their studies.New to this Edition:- Incorporates visual learning strategies throughout, making it more accessible to both learners with learning differences and students for whom English is a second language- Contains a number of exercises designed to foster creativity in academic writing
This link opens in a new window
Writing the Literature Review by
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources. Pedagogical Features *Checklists and "To Do" activities that break down key steps to take. *Boxed examples, graphics that organize and visually illustrate key concepts, and summary tables. *Group activities that invite students to further explore and apply the methods discussed in each chapter. *Detailed directions for using four different organizing strategies: synthesis matrix, summary table, mapping, and topic outline. *End-of-chapter summaries and "What's Next" sections. *Assessment matrices for reviewing and refining the completed literature review. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Improve Your Grammar by
Packed with clear guidance on the nuts and bolts of grammar and plenty of examples, this text will help students master the fundamentals of English grammar and tackle written assignments with confidence. 60+ bite-sized units help students overcome common areas of difficulty, such as forming different tenses, using connectives to link ideas and build an argument, punctuating sentences and choosing the right words. Each unit is presented on a double-page spread, making it easy for students to flick through the book and quickly find the unit they need. Short, focused exercises at the end of each unit - with answers provided at the back of the book - make this text ideal for both self-study and classroom use. This 3rd edition contains four new units on hedging, being critical and collocation.Improve Your Grammar is an essential resource for students of all disciplines and levels wanting to excel at writing, and can be used as a self-study workbook or on tutor-led grammar modules.
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. New to this edition: Two new chapters on basic and advanced writing skills More advice on self-bias and perception Updates and additional examples throughout Updated online resources providing additional support. A Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills.