During your time at University it is likely that you will be asked to deliver a presentation to your peers and it is normal to feel anxious. There are different techniques that you can try such as deep breathing and visualisation to help you feel more confident.
This section will provide you with information regarding how to plan, design, practice and deliver your presentation.
LinkedIn Learning provides BPP students with access to free online courses which includes Communicating with Confidence and Present and Stay on Point.
If your presentation will be assessed it is important that you read the presentation question or task several times to ensure that you fully understand what you are being asked to do and avoid losing valuable marks.
Some students find it helpful to highlight the keywords including any verbs such as Assess and Evaluate.
The Impact that the use of Electric Cars has on the Environment
Also carefully read the assessment criteria, the time limit for the presentation, and the referencing style that you need to use.
If you are unsure about what you are being asked to do you need to speak to your lecturer or tutor.
The process of planning and delivering the presentation can be divided into the following stages:
To help you manage your time you could plan when you will work on each task to ensure that you make the most of the time available and complete the presentation on time. You could use an online calendar to help you.
It is important that you consider the audience which will help to ensure that the presentation is relevant and provides the audience with the information that they need. Asking yourself the following questions may help:
If you are not familiar with the room that you are going to be using if possible arrange to visit and check what IT equipment is available, the room layout and the availability of other resources such as a flipchart.
This stage involves searching for print and online sources that will provide you with the information that you need. You could start by thinking about what you already know about the subject. A useful starting point could be your lecture notes and the module reading list. The Online Library website provides you with access to different online resources that you can search to find research in both print and online format.
You may also be interested in the Searching for Resources section.
You may find it helpful to create a plan of your presentation which involves identifying the topics that you will cover and the evidence that you will use to support your arguments.
Most presentations follow the structure that is displayed in the table below:
| Introduction | Introduce the subject, the aims and objectives and how you plan to answer the question |
| Main Body | Presents your main arguments and discussion in a logical order and is supported by evidence |
| Conclusion | Summary of the main points and ideas and refers back to the aims and objectives |
| Questions | Ask the audience if they have any questions |
You may find the following presentation plan will help you:
Presentation Planner (Edinburgh University)
Most students use Microsoft PowerPoint to design their presentation slides but you could also use Prezi and Google Slides.
It is important that you practice delivering your presentation by speaking it aloud which will help you to feel more confident. You could record yourself delivering the presentation or ask a friend to watch you and ask them for feedback.
Pay attention to how you communicate through your body language and tone of voice. Mehrabian's research found that only 7% of the message is conveyed through verbal communication, 38% is through your voice and 55% is through your body language and facial expressions.
Time how long it takes to deliver the presentation to ensure that you do not exceed the time limit.
Think about the questions the audience may ask and practice answering them.
Most students are nervous before they deliver a presentation and the following tips may help you:
Further information is available from the Stress Management page.
After you have delivered the presentation if something went wrong try not to worry about it. Reward yourself for delivering the presentation and see it as an opportunity to develop your skills.
Think about what went well and what you would like to change next time. You could ask other students or your lecturer for feedback. Plan what you will do differently next time.
Successful Presentation Skills by
Effective presentation skills are essential for business success and are needed in all sorts of business situtations - guiding a new colleague through the basic office procedures, reporting back to a departmental meeting, any kind of sales call (by telephone or face-to-face), or giving the members of the board an overview of a new product.Successful Presentation Skills is packed with practical advice, addressing the common problems many people face when making a presentation. Ideal for the inexperienced speaker and anyone wanting to improve their communication skills, it includes tips on building confidence, understanding body language and using visual aids effectively.
Presentation Skills for Students by
This is the essential guide to the most transferable of all student skills: delivering a presentation clearly, coherently and confidently. Written in a friendly and accessible style, it takes the fear out of public speaking and helps students to acquire the skills they need to deliver effective presentations at university and in their future careers. Revised and updated throughout, it provides readers with practical guidance on controlling their nerves, creating visual aids and structuring presentations. This is an invaluable resource for students of all disciplines in further or higher education who have to give presentations as part of their course. It is also ideal for recent graduates looking to hone their presentation skills as they enter the job market.New to this Edition:- Fully updated to reflect the latest developments in technology, with new material on making the most of the latest software, platforms and networking tools- Gives students even more support with additional exercises and checklists
Develop Your Presentation Skills by
Going beyond handling nerves and presenting PowerPoint slides, Develop Your Presentation Skills, 2nd edition, provides you with a practical toolkit for developing a belting presentation and improving your confidence along the way. Step-by-step advice includes practical help with unpicking the original brief, understanding just what the audience wants and constructing compelling content that will keep your audience rapt with attention. Complete with anecdotes and expert input to help you avoid disaster, this new edition includes two brand new chapters, helping you to deliver a presentation 'stripped bare' and how to use new media to engage with your audience. Develop Your Presentation Skills, 2nd edition, will help you find your voice and use it with style; to inform, to persuade, to impress.
This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly provides BPP students with access to e-books and online videos which includes Bowden, M (2022) How To Present. Revised 2nd ed.