Critical thinking involves asking questions to analyse and evaluate information to increase your understanding and identify the links between different ideas and theories. It is an important skill that you will develop during your academic studies and use throughout your career. This page will provide you with access to information that will help you to develop your critical reading and writing skills.
LinkedIn Learning provides BPP students with access to free online courses which includes Developing a Critical Thinking Mindset and Reading Critically
Critical thinking involves asking yourself questions to analyse and evaluate a subject or idea rather than believing everything you read to form your own argument based on the evidence.
Cottrell (2023) explains that critical thinking involves:
Source: Cottrell, S (2023) Critical thinking skills. 4th ed. London: Bloomsbury Publishing.
Subject Knowledge-when you are not familiar with a subject area it can be difficult to analyse and evaluate information. A good way to start to develop your subject knowledge is to read some of the books that are included on your reading list and make relevant notes.
Too much information-at university you are expected to read different information sources and the amount available can make you feel overwhelmed and unsure where to start. You are not expected to read everything that is available on a subject and your lecturer can help you to select relevant sources.
Confidence-some students do not feel confident about evaluating information written by academics and worry that their answer is incorrect. In many subjects there is no correct answer and academics in their work develop and challenge other academic's research. When you are reading different sources focus on your own thinking and you could discuss your understanding with your friends to help develop your confidence.
Bloom’s taxonomy identified six different thinking processes that enable learning which are listed in order of difficulty from remembering information to creating an original idea or argument.
| Remembering | Able to memorise and recall information such as the definition of specific terms |
| Understanding | Able to identify the meaning from different information sources such as summarising a theory |
| Applying | Able to use their knowledge to resolve a problem or deliver a presentation |
| Analysing | Able to break down a concept into different parts and understand how they relate to each other |
| Evaluating | Able to judge the importance of information based on criteria and standards |
| Creating | Able to assemble the different parts to create a new whole |
Plymouth University have developed a Model to Generate Critical Thinking which is displayed as both a mind map and linear format.
It provides a list of questions that you can ask yourself when you are reading different sources, planning your assignment and structuring your writing. This will help you decide if a source is relevant to your needs, create your own arguments and achieve higher marks.
Students often receive feedback that their assignment is too descriptive and more critical analysis needs to be included.
The table below explains the difference between descriptive writing and critical analysis:
| Descriptive Writing | Critical Analysis |
| States what happened | Identifies the importance of what happened |
| States the order in which something happened | Information is structured in order of importance |
| Explains how something works | Explains why something will work |
| Explain the main ideas of a theory | Explains the importance of the theory and its relevance to the topic |
Adapted from Cottrell, S, (2019) The Study Skills Handbook, 5th ed. London: Red Globe Press p.268.
Your assignment will include some descriptive writing such as to introduce the subject and the assignment structure. However the majority should be critical analysis to demonstrate your understanding of the subject which will also help you to achieve higher marks.
Critical reading is an active process which involves asking questions whilst you are reading to identify how the author develops their arguments and evaluate the strength of their research. For example, you could consider:
You may also be interested in the Academic Reading page.
Critical writing involves analysing and evaluating information from different sources to identify the main themes, the links between different ideas and their strengths and weaknesses to develop an academic argument.
Evidence from academic sources of information is used to support and help you to develop your thinking and arguments.
The arguments that you present are balanced which means that different perspectives on the issue or subject are considered and the conclusion is based on your understanding of the evidence.
Include in your writing phrases that demonstrate your critical thinking such as the main weakness in this research is…
Further information regarding critical writing is available from York University Building a Critical Argument and you may also be interested in the Academic Writing page.
Critical Thinking by
What is critical thinking? How do you apply it in your assessments? How do you build a good argument or find evidence? Critical thinking is a set of techniques. You just need to learn them.This is your personal toolkit for demystifying critical thinking. Clear and focused, it shows you how to sharpen your ability to think critically by developing and honing your skills. You'll learn how to: Build a solid argument and express your ideas clearly Evaluate evidence and identify errors Understand and account for biased or flawed thinking Become a savvy user of technology Sift through the deluge of digital information Develop confident critical writing. Designed to work with a power pack of digital resources and exercises, you′ll find practical and effective tools to think and write critically in an information-saturated age. Whether you′re starting your first degree or arriving as an international or mature student, this book equips you with the skills, insights and confidence to succeed. This second edition has been redesigned and fine-tuned with a focus on accessibility: with a new and improved layout to improve the eBook experience, and updated language, examples and further reading recommendations throughout.
Critical Thinking Skills by
The ability to demonstrate critical thinking is essential for students who seek to achieve good grades at university but it typically creates a lot of confusion and anxiety. Critical Thinking Skills provides an easy to follow, step by step guide to developing analytical reasoning skills and applying them to tasks such as reading, note-making and writing. A complex subject is broken down into easy to understand blocks, with clear explanations, good examples, and plenty of activities to develop understanding at each stage. Students can use this book to: · Critically assess other people's arguments · Recognise flawed reasoning · Evaluate the material used to support arguments · Apply critical thinking when reading, writing and making notes · Write excellent essays and reports The 4th edition features a new section on argument mapping techniques, which help readers to visualize the structures of an argument. It also contains new and updated examples that link to current affairs, showing the importance of critical thinking as a lifelong skill. Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills.
This link opens in a new window
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. Practical and engaging, Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates is bursting with tools for analysing texts and structuring critical reviews, helping you to gradually build your skills beyond undergraduate level and gain confidence in your ability to critically read and write. New to this 3rd edition: Introduces a technique for developing critical thinking skills by interrogating paper abstracts Additional diagrams, exercises and concept explanations, enabling you to more easily understand and apply the various approaches A glossary, to help with understanding of key terms. Also new for this edition, a Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
O'Reilly provides BPP students with access to e-books and online videos which includes Sen, M (2012) An Introduction to Critical Thinking.