BPP University uses several referencing styles and the reference style that you need to use depends on the subject that you are studying. This section will explain how to cite and reference different sources, provides links to the different referencing guides and explains how you can manage your references.
If you are unsure which referencing style you need to use, please contact your Personal Tutor or Programme Support Officer for advice.
Cite Them Right offers guidance, articles and videos on various referencing styles, including Harvard, OSCOLA and APA, teaching users to reference their sources correctly, addressing common queries such as avoiding plagiarism and understanding the differences between primary and secondary sources.
You can access it here or from the library's Online Resources page.
We’d love to know what you think of this resource, and how useful you’ve found it when writing your assignments. For the chance to win an Amazon voucher worth £25, please click here to complete a survey telling us about your experience of using Cite Them Right before 24th May.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, The Library Team
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The 11th edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online. New to this Edition: - Updated examples for all referencing styles to match the latest referencing standards - Now covers IEEE referencing - Expanded APA, MHRA, OSCOLA and Vancouver sections - Advice on how to reference first language texts that are not in English - Coverage of even more sources, including body art, collages, musicals, sewing patterns, Snapchat, WhatsApp and working papers - Simplified advice on referencing legal and parliamentary sources
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by
Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates.New to this Edition:- Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading- New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts- New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessibleAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-use-your-reading-in-your-essays-3e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Referencing is used in academic study to acknowledge the information sources that you have included in your academic work. It is important that you reference the sources that you have used:
Each information source needs to have a citation in your text and the full details of the source needs to be provided in the reference list or bibliography at the end of your work.
Further information about referencing is available from An Introduction to Referencing (video)
Each time that you refer to or quote from someone else’s work you need to include a citation in your work. The format of the citation will differ according to the referencing style you are using but usually includes the author’s name and date of publication in brackets.
Example
Smith (2020) argued that…
“As a nurse you are personally accountable for your actions” (Baillie and Black, 2014, p. 40).
The reference list or bibliography is a list of all the items in alphabetical order that you have referred to at the end of your work. The format of the citation will differ according to the referencing style you are using.
Example
Boyes, A. (2022) How to stop procrastinating. Harvard Business Review, 100(3), pp.143–147.
Cottrell, S (2021) Skills for success : personal development and employability. 4th ed. London: Macmillan Education.
Pears, R. and Shields, G (2019) Cite then right : the essential referencing guide. 11th ed. London: Red Globe Press.
Plagiarism is defined as copying or paraphrasing someone else’s work without acknowledging the source. You can avoid being accused of plagiarism by:
When you submit your assignments you may be asked to submit it to Turnitin which is a database that checks your work for originality.
Further information about plagiarism is available from Routledge-What is plagiarism?
It is important that as you are reading and taking notes that you keep a record of the information sources that you read to save time trying to find it later. You could keep create a document or spreadsheet to keep a list of the different sources you use. There is also free referencing software available that you can download such as Zotero and Mendeley which enable you to upload and create a library of the information sources that you have read.
Click here to access the Introduction to Zotero online video.
BPP University uses several referencing styles, click on the subject that you are studying to access the relevant referencing guide.
BPP University Referencing Guidance
The BPP University Referencing Guidance should be used by most new Law programmes for professional communications. Students on other Law programmes may be asked to use other referencing systems, for example, OSCOLA for academic submissions. Further information will be provided to students on their programme.
OSCOLA
