Taking notes is an active process which will help you to remember information, organise your ideas and structure your arguments. This section will introduce you to different techniques and strategies that you can use to take effective written and online notes.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed.This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments- New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays- More emphasis on reflective learning- Extended guidance on how to balance study with work- More use of visuals to summarise key learning pointsAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/the-study-skills-handbook-5e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by
Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates.New to this Edition:- Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading- New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts- New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessibleAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-use-your-reading-in-your-essays-3e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
LinkedIn Learning provides BPP students with access to free online courses which includes Taking More Effective Notes While Reading and Mind Mapping While Reading.
This section will explain some of the methods that you can use to take notes which will help you to understand a subject, organise your ideas and remember information. Trying out different strategies will help you to find the most effective one for you.
This is the method that most people use where notes are written on a page using headings and subheadings. Students often use this method when they are taking notes during a lecture or from books.
The Cornell Method provides a framework that you can use when you are taking notes. The method involves dividing the page into the following sections:
During the lecture you make your notes using the second panel and then after the lecture you review your notes to record the main points and any questions that you have. You then use the summary section to write a short description of the lecture content.
A mind map is a visual way of taking notes using words, images and lines which enables you to see the connections between different ideas. The main topic is written in the centre of the page and then words related to the main topic are connected by lines to record associated information or ideas.
Mind maps can either be drawn by hand or created online and there are a number of sites available that you can use to create mind maps online such as Canva and MindView.
The following tips will help you to take more effective notes:
Ensure that your notes are stored safely either on paper or online so that you can quickly find the information you need
